CHAPTER I.—PHYSIOGRAPHY. PART I.—GEOGRAPHICAL FEATURES.*

Situation.—The Dominion of Canada comprises the whole northern part of the North American continent with its islands, except the United States territory of Alaska and the territory of Newfoundland (which includes Labrador). It takes in the whole Arctic archipelago between Davis strait and the connecting waters northward to the 60th meridian on the east and the 141st meridian on the west.

The Dominion is bounded on the west by the Pacific ocean and Alaska; on the south by the United States; on the east by the Atlantic ocean, the waters between Newfoundland and the gulf of the St. Lawrence, Labrador, Davis strait, and the dividing waters between the Danish territory of Greenland and Ellesmere island; northward it extends to the North Pole.

The southernmost point is Middle island in lake Erie, in north latitude 41° 41′, and from east to west Canada extends from about west longitude 57° at Belle Isle strait to west longitude 141°, the boundary of Alaska. Canadian territory thus extends over 84° of longitude and 48° of latitude.

Area.—The area of the Dominion is 3,694,863 square miles, a figure which may be compared with that of 3,738,395 square miles for the United States and its dependent territories, 3,776,700 the total area of Europe, 2,974,581 the area of Australia, 3,275,510 the area of Brazil, 1,805,252 the area of India, 121,633 the area of the British Isles. Canada's area is over 27 p.c. of the total area of the British Empire as it is shown on p. 165 of the 1934-35 Year Book.

Political Subdivisions.—Canada is divided from east to west into the following provinces: the Maritime Provinces of Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and New Brunswick, all three comparatively small in area; Quebec, covering a strip south of the St. Lawrence river and the whole territory north of the St. Lawrence river and east of the Ottawa river to Hudson strait, except the Coast of Labrador; Ontario, extending northward from the Great Lakes to Hudson bay; Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta, the provinces of the interior continental plain, extending from the boundary of the United States to 60° north latitude; and British Columbia, the province of the Cordilleran region, also extending from the International Boundary to 60°N. North of the area included in the provinces the country is divided into the Yukon Territory to the west, abutting on Alaska, and the Northwest Territories. The latter is subdivided into three provisional districts: that of Mackenzie comprises the mainland between Yukon and the meridian of longitude 102°W.; the district of Keewatin comprises in general the remainder of the mainland between the district of Mackenzie and Hudson bay, and includes the off-shore islands in Hudson and James bays; the district of Franklin comprises in general the Arctic archipelago.

Prince Edward Island.—This, the smallest province of the Dominion, lies just off the coast east of New Brunswick and north of Nova Scotia; it is separated from both provinces by Northumberland strait from ten to twenty-five miles wide. It is about 120 miles in length and, with an average width of 20 miles, covers an area of 2,184 square miles, approximately 200 square miles more than the State of Delaware. The island is almost trisected by the deep indentations of Malpeque bay north of Summerside and by the mouth of the Hillsborough river at Charlottetown, which nearly meets Tracadie bay on the north side. Its rich, red soil and red sandstone formations are distinctive features, and no point on the island attains a greater

67552 - 1

^{*}Revised by F. H. Peters, Surveyor General and Chief, Hydrographic Service, Department of Mines and Resources, Ottawa. 1